Hedera Council Meeting Minutes

Date: October 9, 2024 Time: 9:00 a.m. EST Location: Virtual

Independent Chair Brett McDowell

<u>Council Member Attendees</u> **abrdn plc:** Duncan Moir

Australian Payments Plus: Rob Allen Avery Dennison: Pradeep lyer, Max Winograd

BitGo: Frank Wang COFRA: Anil Nashier

Dell: David Fraturra
Dentons: Yi Jing Teo

Deutsche Telekom: Dirk Thatman

DLA Piper: Kristi Swartz

IBM: Shyam Nagarajan, Sumabala Nair, Venkat Vairavan

IIT (Madras): John Augustine LGE: Joe Park, Paulo Lee LSE: Jeremy Grant

Magazine Luiza: Simon Olson

Mondelez: Xiang Xu

Shinhan Bank: Daseob Lee, Minju Kim Standard Bank: Wandile Malinga, Mz Omarjee Swirlds, Inc.: Dr. Leemon Baird, Mance Harmon, Bill

Miller, Arlan Harris

Tata Communications: Ankur Jindal **UCL:** Nikhil Vadgama, Paolo Tasca

Worldpay: Saiprasad Raut Zain: Richard MacNamara

Members Not Present

Boeing Nomura/Laser Digital

Chainlink ServiceNow
EDF Ubisoft
Google Wipro

Hitachi IIT (Madras) Hedera Directors

Brett McDowell (Chair) Tasker Generes Brian Jeffords Pradeep lyer Duncan Moir Monique Morrow

lan Putter Scott Thiel

Hedera Officers & Staff

Charles Adkins, President Joe Bachle-Morris, Chief of Staff Betsabe Botaitis, Chief Financial Officer Alex Popowycz, Chief Information Officer Nilmini Rubin, Chief Policy Officer

Tom Sylvester, General Counsel & Secretary Kate Ball, Dir. of Legal Operations & Senior Counsel

Mike Cave, Dir. Technical Operations

Gregory Schneider, Deputy General Counsel Vanessa Valentine, Manager of Committee

Operations

<u>Hashgraph</u> Kurt Bierbower Eric Piscini

Guests

Frank Mwiti, Nairobi Securities Exchange

Summary of actions taken at meeting: None.

Actions taken or ratified by the Hedera Council by written consent (September 11, 2024 - October 9, 2024):

- The Council Members voted to approve CoinCom's proposal to amend the Node Subsidy policy to reimburse node operators in USD for the first half of 2025, with HBAR-only rewards starting July 1, 2025. (September 24, 2024).
- The Council Members voted to approve the August Council meeting minutes. (September 24, 2024).
- The Council Members voted to approve the application of Nairobi Securities Exchange, Plc to join the Hedera Council. (October 14, 2024).

Actions taken by Hedera Committees (September 11, 2024 - October 9, 2024): None.

Call to Order & Introductions

Brett M. called the meeting to order. A change to the agenda was requested and, after being moved and seconded, the agenda was adopted.

Brett McDowell Chair

Chair

Introducing Nairobi Securities Exchange ("NSE")

Brett introduced NSE, the largest exchange in Africa, as the newest member of the Hedera Council. The Council Members voted to approve NSE's application after the Membership Committee approved and endorsed NSE's nomination.

Frank Mwiti Nairobi Securities Exchange

Brett McDowell

NSE's CEO and primary representative, Frank M., explained that NSE is looking forward to bringing various use cases to market and actively contributing to Hedera network governance. Frank described NSE's strategy to establish new best practices and industry norms involving distributed ledger technology. The Council Members expressed excitement to work with a first mover in the region and explore applications that are likely to be adopted throughout the industry.

Phase 4 Task Force Report & Recommendations

Tom S. reviewed the Phase Four Task Force's recent discussions and recommendations. The Task Force has explored and discussed a new Board structure and size, a nominating committee to nominate individuals to Hedera's Board with specific skills and expertise, and implementation logistics, among other issues. Tom stated that an e-ballot will be issued for the Council Members to vote on the Task Force's recommendations.

Tom Sylvester General Counsel & Secretary

Executive Session

The Council Members entered into executive session, after which the meeting was adjourned.